Ole And Adios!

0316151203-1    0302151201c-1    0321151243-1

0302151201g-1    0302151202-1

It’s Saturday and Zelda couldn’t be happier! I love the weekend, and I’m always on the quest for an amazing dessert. Every day brings an exciting new adventure, but today I was due for an international excursion. That’s right, my bags were packed and I was ready to embark on another trip around the world courtesy of Yogurtland. With the Flavor Quest promotion going strong, customers can enjoy 10 exotic flavors from various worldly destinations without having to go any further than their local Yogurtland shop. The promotion began a few weeks ago and runs through May 10 with new flavors being released every two weeks. So far there have been six flavors introduced, and there are still four more waiting in the coming weeks. With my passport in hand, my favorite fro-yo companion and I jetted off to the Kent location and prepared to fly away for another tasty vacation.

The shop was quiet when we arrived, so our timing was great. With the recent mild weather, yogurt shops are becoming a little busier on the weekend and you never know when there will be an unexpected wave of hungry customers. That can make for a hectic trip sometimes! The manager welcomed us in and gave us a terrific greeting as always before scanning our boarding passes. We were excited and ready for travel since we had quite a few destinations to visit!

The first stop was a quick stopover in Brazil for a taste of Pineapple Sorbet. It’s sweet and very refreshing, but I’m not usually one to choose a sorbet. Just give me the rich and decadent options! It’s definitely a good flavor and I could see this being a perfect choice on a hot summer day. After Brazil, it was time for the real destinations on my journey. My tour itinerary consisted of four countries, Denmark, Mexico, Thailand, and then returning to the good old USA. First up was Denmark for Peanut Nougat with Almond Butter & Honey gelato, which happens to be Yogurtland’s first gelato offering. It’s creamy and has a mild nutty flavor to it. I was hoping it would have more of a peanut butter taste, but it tastes more like a peanut bar. I don’t see it becoming a Zelda favorite, but I’ll probably get it whenever it’s available because it’s pretty good. For souvenirs, I went with crumbled Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups to help bring out some of that peanut butter taste I was looking for. My next exotic location was Thailand for another encounter with Cinnamon Coconut. It seems like an odd combination and I rarely get coconut fro-yo, but I like the cinnamon aspect. If there’s a flavor with cinnamon in it, I’m usually a fan. While in Thailand, I picked up a few NSA dark chocolate bits which added a nice touch. Up next was one of Zelda’s favorite vacation spots, Mexico. Ah, Churro……that sweet confection fried crispy and golden, and topped with cinnamon sugar. How can anyone not crave that? That’s been my favorite so far and the one I was most looking forward to out of the 10 Flavor Quest flavors. I’ve gotten it several times and have experimented with various toppings, but today’s accompaniment was Hershey’s chocolate chips. I had every intention of getting honey as well, but would you believe that Zelda got sidetracked at the souvenir shop and forgot it? Yikes! After a lengthy stay in sunny Mexico, it was time to return back to the good old USA for Banana Pudding. It’s a classic southern dessert with a creamy taste, and this flavor tastes just like the its namesake. I don’t usually choose banana flavors, but I enjoy some of the ones that Yogurtland offers. Bananas Foster and Cinnamon Banana Bread are my two favorites, but Banana Pudding is next in line and it paired really well with the crushed Nilla Wafers that I picked up at the duty-free shop. I wasn’t quite finished yet, though. All of my creations have two basic staples: cookie dough bites and whipped cream. There was definitely no shortage of either topping as they found their way onto all four flavors. Wow, what a fantastic journey this turned out to be!

Mexico was by far my favorite spot of the journey and my time spent there was too short! I can never get enough Churro, although sadly I found out that Churro is leaving tomorrow and there will be no return flights. Say it isn’t so! It’s possible that one of the other locations may still have it, but they’re much further away and I don’t see myself making the extra long trek. You never know with Zelda, though; stranger things have happened! Perhaps this flavor will make a return in the future and then I can cash in some frequent flyer miles to take another well deserved vacation. There is one bright spot to Churro’s absence and that’s the fact that Red Velvet Cupcake Batter will be arriving in its place. If there’s one flavor Zelda loves at Yogurtland, it’s Red Velvet Cupcake Batter! Perhaps I shouldn’t put away my passport just yet…and for those of you keeping track of Zelda’s third Unlimited Cup reward, I am excited to say that I am only 16 ounces away from earning it. If that’s not enough to tempt me into going again soon, I don’t know what is!

Until we eat again….

Z-

Leave a comment