Zelda’s here….where are you?

1211151229.jpg

1204151217  1204151217a

1211151241

Happy Fro-Yo Friday! Yes, Zelda decided it was time to spread a little holiday cheer today and invite you along on my adventure today. It’s been a couple of weeks since I filled you in, and that’s too long! It was a bit of a mixed bag today, so there’s plenty to tell. My first thought was Menchie’s at Hawks Prairie because they recently brought back one of Zelda’s favorites: Cinnabon Classic Cinnamon Roll. I’ve gone a few times since it returned last week, and it was definitely calling me today. As the afternoon approached, I finished my errands and made the familiar drive to Hawks Prairie only to find an unexpected surprise. It was 12pm and the door was locked, which has happened on occasion since the shop sometimes fall a few minutes behind schedule. Well, as I looked in through the glass I noticed a sign on the counter as well as on the door announcing the shop’s new hours. Starting today they will be opening at 2pm instead of 12pm, and let me tell you that this was a very last minute decision. I was just here three days ago and no one was aware of the intent to change the hours, and upon further investigation later this afternoon it turns out that the staff was just made aware of the change on Wednesday. It looks like Zelda’s fro-yo options just decreased because fro-yo hour is certainly not 2pm for me. After coming to the harsh realization that there would be no Cinnabon today, I quickly checked the flavors at the next two closest locations: Tacoma Mall and Capital Mall (each one in opposite directions). Tacoma Mall had nothing to draw me in, however Capital Mall had the final promotional flavor four days ahead of schedule. No contest there! Capital Mall it is.

The manager welcomed me in and gave me some good news as I settled into my favorite spot; it looks like Chewy Peanut Butter Cookie will be arriving as soon as they run out of Southern Pecan Pie. That was definitely music to my ears! I shared with him my woe of arriving at Hawks Prairie only to have the Cinnabon rug swept out from beneath me, and he was also surprised about the sudden change in hours. It’s good news for them, though; anyone in Lacey or Olympia who wants to go to Menchie’s from 12-2pm will have to go to Capital Mall. Since my sweet tooth satisfaction was already running behind schedule, I quickly made my way to the sample cups for a taste of the new arrival. Oatmeal Raisin Cookie is the sixth and final flavor in Menchie’s Holiday Dessert Fair promotion. Earlier this month customers were treated to Holiday Eggnog and Dark Chocolate Cherry Brownie, neither of which I found appealing. I’m not a fan of Eggnog, and I don’t usually go for chocolate flavors; especially if there’s a fruity combination like chocolate cherry. I had been anticipating Oatmeal Raisin Cookie since I’m a big fan of Yogurtland’s Oatmeal Cookie, but I was a little apprehensive about whether or not the raisin flavor would be strong. The flavor is quite tasty, and the raisin was noticeable although it wasn’t overpowering. While it won’t be a Zelda favorite, it’s tasty and it became a quick contender for the cup. Out of the rest of the lineup, only two called out to me: Southern Pecan Pie and I Dream Of Cookies ‘n’ Cream. After sampling each, I was ready to pick up an Alvin The Chipmunk cup and start swirling.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookie was the first flavor to arrive, followed by Southern Pecan Pie and I Dream Of Cookies ‘n’ Cream. A sweet trio like this deserves some even sweeter accompaniments! Since I initially thought I’d be having Cinnabon, I planned ahead and brought some of my secret stash of Cinnabon Morsels. It seemed a shame not to use them, so I set them aside and decided they should make an appearance at the table for Oatmeal Raisin Cookie. Southern Pecan Pie was joined by Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate Chips while I Dream Of Cookies ‘n’ Cream was paired with crumbled Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. Cookie dough bites and whipped cream made their way throughout the entire cup, and I redeemed some of my Menchie’s Money which made my treat free. Time to add the coveted secret topping to Oatmeal Raisin Cookie, and then my collectible Alvin spoon was ready for action.

Another sweet and savory indulgence that satisfied every taste bud! I Dream Of Cookies ‘n’ Cream was the first flavor to depart, and its taste was everything I could want; a perfect balance of cocoa and cream. Southern Pecan Pie was scrumptious and really enjoyed its chocolate topping as well as its neighbors. Oatmeal Raisin Cookie was a nice change and it paired well with the super secret Cinnabon Morsels that I had with me. Sometimes you need something a little special to elevate a flavor to the next level, right? As you might imagine, it wasn’t long before I was scraping the cup and licking the spoon clean. Soon my frustrations of the Hawks Prairie store and the big Cinnabon letdown were temporarily forgotten, and all I could think about was the yumminess I had just devoured. Don’t think that I didn’t call the Hawks Prairie store shortly after 2pm, though! I made sure to let them know that their most loyal customer was left out in the cold today and had no choice but to go to a different store. Times are rough for fro-yo shops in the winter, and I’ve seen quite a few come and go within the past few years. I hope that the Hawks Prairie location isn’t the next to go, but only time will tell.

Until we eat again….

Z-

 

 

 

Leave a comment