Move Over Pumpkin Pie, It’s Pecan Time

0819151156-1   1116151154-1

1116151153c-1   1102151155c-1

1116151216d   1102151156-1

It’s Monday once again, and no one usually looks forward to the start of the week. The only time Mondays are appealing is when there’s a holiday or a new fro-yo flavor. Just my luck, there happens to be a new flavor at Menchie’s as of yesterday! I know better than to pin all of my fro-yo hopes on a new flavor, so there has to be a backup plan that involves Peanut Butter. My strongest PB option at the moment is Menchie’s at Tacoma Mall, plus they have another one of my favorites. Sold! The weather may have been cold and windy, but it wasn’t going to keep me from a special dessert. Back to the mall for a noteworthy adventure!

There were two other customers when I arrived, so evidently the damp day didn’t keep everyone away. The team member welcomed me in as I grabbed my favorite table, and then I was anxious to see what yummy things awaited me. The holiday promotion began two weeks ago and has launched three flavors so far, one of which has already departed. Chocolate Mint Creme made with Andes is one of the lucky ones that will be in all month, but Spiced Gingerbread Cookie was only in the store for two weeks and departed to make way for today’s arrival of Southern Pecan Pie. It’s too bad because I really like Spiced Gingerbread Cookie whereas I’m not a fan of mint flavored fro-yo. That’s the breaks, though! Luckily for me Southern Pecan Pie is yummy, although I have to say that I didn’t get much of a nutty flavor. It’s very sweet and it almost reminded me of a maple flavor more so than pecan. It’s been years since I’ve had pecan pie, but this didn’t really taste like pecan pie to me. If I didn’t know what the flavor was, I probably wouldn’t be able to identify it in a blind taste test. It was still yummy and a definite contender, so that’s what really matters. I already knew what my two main flavors would be, so a quick quality check ensured their place in the cup and then it was time to create.

Creamy Peanut Butter was joined by Southern Pecan Pie and Cinnabon Classic Cinnamon Roll to make a sweet and scrumptious delight. A powerful trio this was, and all it needed was a few tasty trinkets. Creamy Peanut Butter was accented with Hershey’s Special dark chocolate chips, Southern Pecan Pie received a light dusting of graham cracker crumbs, and Cinnabon Classic Cinnamon Roll was in its own sweet bliss because it was drizzled with cream cheese icing. It also had another topping that would be arriving once I sat down at the table, but that’s something I’ll get to in a moment. For the entire cup, cookie dough bites and whipped cream were added before redeeming a 50% discount through the Pirq smartphone app. Awesome! I grabbed my spoon and headed to the table, and that’s when the highly coveted Cinnabon Morsels made their appearance. The promotional topping ran out a few weeks ago, but I took home a cup for future Cinnabon encounters and I always bring it with me. After they made their appearance, I was ready to indulge.

I was in heaven from the first bite! Creamy Peanut Butter had such decadence that dazzled me through and through. I can never get enough of this amazing flavor, and it’s an encounter like this that made me fall in love with it in the first place. Cinnabon Classic Cinnamon Roll was the second favorite of the day, enrobed in its specially themed toppings. Every bite was tantalizing, and I was quickly in a state of fro-yo euphoria. Southern Pecan Pie was succulent and had a sugary sweetness, blending well with both of its neighbors. It was the smallest portion of the three, but it held its own very nicely. Graham cracker crumbs were a perfect accent considering this was a “pie” flavor even though it didn’t make me think of pecan pie per se. I tried to make the cup last as long as possible, but all good things eventually come to an end. I guess it’s a good thing for me that there’s always another adventure waiting in the wings, so let’s hope it’s every bit as amazing as Monday’s was!

Until we eat again….

Z-

Leave a comment